Almond Milk

Almond Milk

At the request of a special friend here is a recipe for Almond Milk. We had been talking about it the other day and she mentioned they were buying it in packs from the supermarket, but she was concerned about the sugar content.

I decided to do little looking around and see just what they put into a commercially produced almond milk.

Every 200ml, ( 1/3 of a pint) or glassful  contains a teaspoon of sugar – but you can get the sugar free sort. If I am correct in saying that the ingredients are listed in order of quantity then there is apparently more sugar than almonds (2%) in the box, also a whole list of other ingredients too:  Tri-calcium phosphate, Sea salt, Stabilisers (Locust Bean gum, Gellan gum), Emulsifier (Sunflower lecithin), Vitamins (Riboflavin (B2), B12, E, D2).  Add to that the almonds are roasted before being ground, meaning that the health benefits of the raw nut and it’s enzymes are sacrificed.

So how easy is it to make it yourself? Very, all that is needed is a little preparation beforehand and a few simple kitchen utensils:almond milk

That’s it – so simple! Just remember to put the almonds to soak in the water (ideally alkaline) in the jug of your blender overnight and in the morning a quick whizz and strain and the most delicious creamy drink results. You can make it thicker or thinner by using either more or less water, adjust to your personal taste. This will make sufficient quantity for three portions, or three mornings worth of breakfasts, so you don’t even have to make it every day, just cover and store in the fridge.

Almond milk on it’s own tastes mouthwateringly good, but there are ways to use it too. In the next blog I will show you one of my breakfast drinks I enjoy several mornings a week.

Strawberry Power Shake

Strawberry Power Shake

About 8020living

"Living Life to the Full"
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Almond Milk

  1. Ooo, I like this. I have been buying organic sweetened almond milk as the unsweetened is inorganic. I’ll give this a go tonight. Many thanks!

  2. 8020living says:

    Thank you for visiting, I hope you like the milk – let me know what you think. Best wishes, Tina

  3. Liz Cunningham says:

    Hi, I made some almond milk a few days ago and it’s delicious!! Put it in some rooibos tea and it’s lovely and creamy………my next thing is to make a banana and vanilla milkshake with it.

    • 8020living says:

      Do you think it would work with grain coffees like Barley Cup or even dandelion coffee? Tina xxxx

      • Liz Cunningham says:

        I’m not sure, but I’ll give it a go!! I’ve also got a drink called Teecino which is made from natural ingredients so will try it in that also and let you know how I get on. I made some hazelnut milk as well which was really nice……………..x

Leave a Reply

