Picnic Bars

One day when I was in the mood for baking I found there weren’t enough oats to make the flapjacks I fancied eating, undaunted I decided it was time to invent something new and these peanut butter picnic bars were born.

I’m sure if you surf the net there is likely to be this very recipe, or something very like it somewhere, however this one came about simply by adding the things I had to hand, and just incase it worked I wrote the quantities down. The first bars I made only had one egg in them, but since Katie was around the next time they were made she test drove the recipe for you and we put in two eggs, this does work better.

Ingredients

Ingredients:
9oz oats
8oz butter
4oz plain flour
80z peanut butter
60z sugar
1tsp vanilla
2 eggs

Method:

  • Melt the butter in a large saucepan, remove from heat
  • Stir in the sugar and peanut butter until well mixed
  • Beat in the two eggs
  • Stir in the oats and flour, mix well
  • Tip into a greased baking pan
  • Cook at 180c or 170c for fan ovens for about 20-25 minutes depending on the size of the pan and the thickness of the mixture, they are cooked when the edges are just starting to turn golden.
  • Remove from the oven and flatten the mixture all over with a spatula or fish slice.
  • Cool for about ten minutes and then cut into the bars, leave in the tin to cool completely before removing.

Cut and drizzled

 

If you want to drizzle chocolate over like I did melt the chocolate in a microwave or in a bowl over a saucepan of hot water then using a teaspoon drizzle over the top. I used a dark, 85%,  chocolate bar rather than cooking chocolate for the better taste.

Time for tea

Tim is concerned I am encouraging bad habits by posting this recipe, but I feel that it is nice to have something homemade to offer visitors that pop by – and just sometimes there is a need to put ones feet up and slow down a bit, indulge and enjoy the sweeter side of life – after all doesn’t 8020 Living require that? Let me know what you think.

About 8020living

"Living Life to the Full"
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

